Friday, March 27, 2026

Last Friday of the Month

I manage all our payments for things, some I mail checks in for (our electric and water bills because I can't figure out how to set up online payments for the city, and Doug's student loan because they have blocked him from accessing his account online. Don't ask why). 

So today is the day I put a lot of things in for payments. I set everything up at the beginning of the month so I can pick the date things clear. I am not a fan of autopay, I like checking the balances, looking at what's going on with the checking account, how much money do we have. 

First thing I do is pay mom's lot rent. Her online payment portal accepts auto pay setup but it doesn't let you pay until the first, which is the due date. She gets very anxious about that, because the website says it can take up to 48 hours for the payment to process. She always used to mail it in 10 days in advance of the first, so she wants it paid before the first. I manually do that every month on the 27th usually. I use her bank account, and she will sometimes go to the bank to check her balances two or three days later and say "you didn't pay my rent, did you." 

Um. 

Yes.

On the 27th. I paid it. I did.

"Well it hasn't cleared yet." 

"Well that's not my fault." Today is a Friday, which then means it isn't going to clear until like Monday or Tuesday so I bet money I hear from her. 

Then, I check my bank balance. I get paid every other Thursday and Doug gets paid every other Friday and it is never the same week. This week was my pay week. So our balance is nice. 

What has cleared? The utilities that I pay by check, Doug's student loan, our mortgage, which I schedule for whatever the last Friday of the month is (today).  I pay the Capital one, it's almost fully paid off but this month I paid less than I usually do but still way more than the minimum amount due. I wanted to throw the usual gianter amount at it but.

Taxes are due. And we've got a big huge ass payment to make to the feds. Doh. 

So I'm spending a lil'less and not throwing as much around as I want to. 

Doug gets paid next week, I get paid the week after, we'll have a substantial pile of cash in the account and can pay the piper, as it were. 

Doug also got a raise, and it'll be retro to the beginning of the year which is nice. 

And then after the 15th of April I can go back to paying my debts but also... spending money. 

I bought 8 tickets for 2 nights each for Guster at Wolf Trap in September. People will reimburse me, for sure, but I'm not asking anyone for money yet. 

In the 25 years (holy shit) that I've kept this blog it is nice to be in a position where alright, okay. Alright okay. We're good. We're fine. I don't have to pay my taxes on my credit card. 

So the last friday of this month, we're good.

Today was a good day. I had a 1:1 with my department head and she is delightful. Last one we had was in September and she reminded me that I really should get on her schedule more often, just for fun, because it is delightful to talk to me. The thing that I was working on last night is still not resolved and no one touched it today but we'll revisit that Monday. 






digits

exercise: 12/12 hours. Toffee Walk. Went to the dog park, 28 minutes round trip, 1.38 mi. 11k+ steps by bedtime

blood glucose:

8am: 125
4:15pm: 142
10:30pm: 119 

food & meds:

8am: jardiance+phentermine
11:30am: grilled cheese and turkey on 647 
1pm: met+glip
4:15pm: 2 good yogurt
6pm: kielbasa and pierogis
8:15pm: met+glip
8:30pm: ramekin mixed nuts
red wine+diet ginger ala

No comments:

Post a Comment